Mixtape 12 – Reggae

Happy New Year! I thought you might enjoy something mellow today, after the excesses of Christmas and New Year, and what better way to ease yourself into 2018 than with a new mixtape of reggae tunes?

I’ve loved reggae ever since I was a kid, and growing up in Birmingham in the late 70s and 80s, it was inescapable. There’s even a cassette somewhere of me singing along to Errol Dunkley’s ‘OK Fred’, at the age of about 4, which I vividly remember seeing on Top of the Pops back in 1979!

A lot of these tracks have appeared in my previous mixtapes, but I thought it would be nice to consolidate them, along with a bunch of other favourites, into one genre-specific skankathon!

Artists here include Toots & The Maytals, Horace Andy, John Holt, Bob Marley, Burning Spear, Ken Boothe, Harry J Allstars, Dave & Ansel Collins and even Musical Youth.

Enjoy…

Leave a comment